Back to Top

HEUTZ-HOMBURG AG - BRICK MACHINERY

Our company

Our company was founded by Franz Heutz who was born on 27.04.1919 in Hauset. He went to elementary school there and then to business college in Aachen. After that he completed 6 months’ professional training in a tile works in Isny (Allgäu).

This came about since both Franz Heutz´s father and mother came from tile-making families. As the youngest of the family he had always wanted to go into his parents’ business. His brothers had already chosen other careers. In his parents’ business they had for years been producing pantiles that were delivered as far as the Eifel. Today one can still see many houses that are covered with pantiles. They were making interlocking tiles until about 1920 in his grandparents’ tile works on his mother’s side.

Because of the threat of the approaching World War, young Franz could not stay long in his parents’ business. In 1938 he was called up by the Belgian Army. After the end of the war tiles were being baked again in Hauset and a clay pit was in use. The partly fire-resistant clay was sold for pipe manufacture to the Charleroi region on the Franco-Belgian border.

In 1953 the clay pit was exhausted and Franz Heutz specialised in the sale and repair of tile machines. This was the moment when Heutz-Homburg AG was really born. Today the company has warehouses in the village of Hauset and on the Belgian-German border near Aachen. Thanks to the major personal involvement of Franz Heutz and his wife, the company flourished and it continues to exist as a family business.

Now Heutz-Homburg AG has become one of the market leaders in Europe and it exports to over 46 countries.

Back to Top

HEUTZ-HOMBURG S.A. - MACHINES CERAMIQUES

Notre entreprise

Notre société fut fondée par Franz Heutz, né le 27.04.1919 à Hauset. Il alla à l´école communale de Hauset et fit  immédiatement après une école de commerce à Aix la Chapelle. Il acheva ensuite un stage de 6 mois dans une tuilerie à Isny dans l´Allgäu.

Cela se concevait facilement car aussi bien le père que la mère de Franz Heutz étaient issus de familles de tuiliers. Plus jeune descendant de la famille, il  devait et voulait entrer dans l´entreprise familiale. Ses frères avaient déjà choisi d´autres métiers. Dans l´entreprise parentale, on fabriquait déjà depuis des années des tuiles creuses qui étaient livrées jusque dans l´Eifel. On trouve encore aujourd´hui de nombreuses maisons aux toitures en briques creuses. Dans la tuilerie des grands parents maternels, on fabriquait jusqu´aux environs de 1920 des tuiles à emboîtement à double encoche.

En raison de l´approche menaçante de la guerre mondiale, le jeune Franz ne put travailler trop longtemps dans l´entreprise parentale, et en 1928 il fut mobilisé dans l´armée belge. A la fin de la guerre, des tuiles furent à nouveau cuites à Hauset et une nouvelle argilière fut exploitée. L´argile semi réfractaire était vendue pour fabrication de conduites dans  la région de Charleroi, à la frontière belgo - française. En 1953, l´argilière était épuisée et Franz Heutz se spécialisa dans la vente et la réparation de machines à mouler les tuiles. Ceci fut la véritable heure de naissance de Heutz-Homburg AG.

La société dispose aujourd´hui d´entrepôts dans le village de Hauset, à la frontière belgo – française en direction d´Aix la Chapelle. Grâce au grand engagement personnel de Franz Heutz et de son épouse, l´entreprise prospéra, et existe encore maintenant en tant qu´entreprise familiale.

La société Heutz-Homburg AG est devenue entre-temps un des leaders du marché européen et exporte dans plus de 46 pays.